CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231


Federal Individual Assistance counties added to Presidential Disaster Declaration


DES MOINES - Gov. Kim Reynolds today received word that two counties that were affected by recent severe weather and flooding along the Missouri River have been added to the Presidential Disaster Declaration granted March 23, 2019.

Residents in Pottawattamie and Shelby counties are now eligible to apply for the federal Individual Assistance Program, which provides aid to eligible homeowners, renters, and businesses. Residents of Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, and Woodbury counties were included in the March 23 declaration for the Individual Assistance Program.

The federal Individual Assistance program can provide homeowners, renters, and businesses grants and low-interest loans to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs, and other disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance or other aid programs.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in the designated area can begin applying for federal Individual Assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621- 3362 or 1-800-462-7585 TTY. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time), seven days a week, until further notice. Residents of Pottawattamie and Shelby counties who have already registered for the federal Individual Assistance Program do not need to re-apply, as their registrations are still active.  

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program is no longer available to residents in Pottawattamie and Shelby counties following their addition to the Presidential Disaster Declaration. Citizens in these counties should now apply for the federal Individual Assistance Program. The Disaster Case Management Program is still available to impacted residents of Pottawattamie and Shelby counties through the local community action association, which can be found at

The Presidential Disaster Declaration also provides assistance to state and local governments and certain nonprofit organizations (including rural electric cooperatives and municipal utilities) in 56 counties under the Public Assistance Program. In addition, the Presidential Disaster Declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state.

For more information on flood recovery resources available to Iowans, visit or contact 2-1-1.