CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231


FEMA makes additional assistance available to public entities and nonprofits in flood-impacted counties


Gov. Kim Reynolds today received word that additional assistance is now available to public and nonprofit entities in flood-impacted counties.


A disaster declaration issued by President Trump on March 23, 2019, made 56 counties eligible to apply for emergency work and emergency protective measures assistance under the federal Public Assistance Program.


The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) on April 11 announced that 13 of those counties are now eligible to apply for additional assistance for permanent work through the Public Assistance Program, to include the replacement or repair of disaster-damaged facilities such as roads, bridges, and public buildings. The counties included in this latest announcement are: Adair, Boone, Butler, Cass, Emmet, Guthrie, Kossuth, O’Brien, Osceola, Plymouth, Tama, Union, and Woodbury counties. Twenty other counties are also eligible for permanent work through the Public Assistance Program: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Crawford, Dallas, Franklin, Fremont, Greene, Harrison, Ida, Jasper, Lyon, Marshall, Mills, Monona, Polk, Pottawattamie, Shelby, Sioux, Winneshiek, and Wright.

Additional counties may be added to the Presidential Disaster Declaration for the Public Assistance Program.


The Presidential Disaster Declaration also made available federal Individual Assistance for five counties, which provides aid to eligible homeowners, renters, and businesses. Residents in Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, and Woodbury counties are eligible to apply for this program, regardless of income.


Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in the designated area can begin applying for assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-3362 or 1-800-462-7585 TTY. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time), seven days a week, until further notice.


For more information