CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231


Gov. Reynolds announces SBA disaster assistance for flood-damaged counties


DES MOINES - Gov. Kim Reynolds announced Wednesday the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) granted her request to provide assistance in the form of low-interest disaster loans for Polk County, along with seven contiguous counties impacted by the June 6 to July 2, 2018, flooding and severe weather event.


Homeowners, renters, businesses, and most nonprofit organizations in Boone, Dallas, Jasper, Madison, Marion, Polk, Story and Warren counties, whose property was damaged or destroyed by this disaster, will be able to apply for low-interest disaster loans from the SBA.


Applications may be made in person at the SBA's Disaster Loan Outreach Center located at Polk County River Place, 2309 Euclid Avenue, Des Moines, beginning Dec. 13, 2018, at 8 a.m. Representatives from SBA will be on hand at the Disaster Loan Outreach Center to answer questions about the disaster loan program, explain the application process, and help individuals complete their application. The Center's normal hours of operation will be Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. until further notice. Please note for the holidays, the Center closes at 5 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 21 and reopens at 8 a.m. on Thursday, Jan. 3. No appointment is necessary.


Applicants may apply online, and receive additional disaster assistance information, on the SBA website. Applicants may also call SBA’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 or email SBA Customer Service for more information on SBA disaster assistance. Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing may call 1-800-877-8339.


The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.