CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231


Gov. Reynolds issues disaster proclamation for four counties


DES MOINES – Gov. Kim Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation Saturday for four counties in response to adverse weather conditions and a train derailment that occurred in Lyon County.


The governor's proclamation allows for a waiver of certain hours of service requirements for crews responding to disaster locations, including individuals involved in response, recovery, remediation and repair efforts in Lyon, Plymouth, Sioux and Woodbury counties. This proclamation will facilitate and expedite the delivery of goods, services and personnel to the impacted areas. 

The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.