CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231


President Trump issues Disaster Declaration for seven Iowa counties impacted by July flooding and severe weather


DES MOINES - Today, Gov. Kim Reynolds received word that President Donald Trump approved her request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for seven counties impacted by flooding and severe weather July 19-23, 2017.


The counties included in the declaration are: Allamakee, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette and Mitchell.

The declaration will provide federal funding to the included counties under the Public Assistance Program. A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are partially matched by state programs, and designed to help public entities and select non-profits. Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and may include debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged public property, loans needed by communities for essential government functions and grants for public schools. Damage assessments in the seven declared counties showed an estimated $7 million worth of damage that could be eligible under the Public Assistance Program.


The governor also received notification that the Presidential Disaster Declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. With this funding, Iowa will be able to minimize the impact of future disasters by taking steps to reduce or eliminate long-term risk to people and property from natural hazards.‚Äč


The governor requested the declaration on Aug. 10, 2017. Click here to read the letter in its entirety.

The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.