CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231


President Obama issues Disaster Declaration for 19 Iowa counties impacted by September storms and flooding

Hazard mitigation funding also made available statewide

DES MOINES - Today, Gov. Terry E. Branstad received word that President Obama approved his request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 19 counties impacted by severe storms and flooding September 21-23, 2016.


The counties included in the declaration are: Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Howard, Linn, Mitchell, Winneshiek and Wright.


The governor sent the request for a declaration on Oct. 21, 2016.


The declaration by the President will provide federal funding to the declared counties under the Public Assistance Program.  A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are matched by state programs, and designed to help public entities and select non-profits. Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and may include debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged public property, loans needed by communities for essential government functions and grants for public schools.


The Governor also received notification that the Presidential Disaster Declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. With this funding, Iowa will be able to minimize the impact of future disasters by taking steps now to strengthen existing infrastructure.


This is the 24th Presidential Disaster Declaration Iowa has received since March 2007.


The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.