CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231


Branstad, Reynolds update on Iowa flood response

Governor issues a proclamation of disaster emergency for four counties; state officials to visit Charles City and Greene today


DES MOINES – This morning, Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds provided an update on the Iowa flood response. 


Over the weekend, Gov. Branstad, Lt. Gov. Reynolds, Adjutant General of the Iowa National Guard Tim Orr, and Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management Director Mark Schouten toured flood damage in Clarkesville and Shell Rock and assessed flood preparedness plans underway in Cedar Rapids. To view pictures of those visits, please visit Gov. Branstad’s Facebook page. Gov. Branstad and Lt. Gov. Reynolds will be assessing flood damage today in the cities of Charles City and Greene.   


This update includes an overview of actions being taken by the State of Iowa to assist communities in northern Iowa impacted by flooding. 

Proclamation of Disaster Emergency

Today, Gov. Terry Branstad issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for an additional four counties: Cerro Gordo, Hancock, Mitchell, and Worth.


The governor’s proclamation allows State resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of this severe flooding.  The proclamation also activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for residents of those four counties. In addition, Gov. Branstad’s proclamation activates the Iowa National Guard to assist in the response to, the mitigation of, and the recovery from the effects of the disaster as needed.   


The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the current federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $40,320, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.


On Sept. 23, 2016, Gov. Branstad issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for 13 counties: Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Chickasaw, Delaware, Floyd, Franklin, Linn and Wright.

State Resources

The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management is coordinating the delivery of state resources to the affected areas.

Resources that have been provided include:

The State continues to work with local officials in northern and eastern Iowa to assist with planning and provide them with resources as they prepare for the potential flooding.


For more disaster information, visit

The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.