CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231


Gov. Branstad requests Presidential Disaster Declaration


DES MOINES – Gov. Terry E. Branstad today signed a letter to be delivered to President Obama requesting a Presidential Disaster Declaration for eight Iowa counties where significant damage was sustained from severe storms and flooding from Aug. 23-27, 2016.


The counties included in this request are: Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette, Floyd, Howard, Mitchell, and Winneshiek.

The governor requested funding under the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Public Assistance Program, which is used to rebuild damaged infrastructure that may include roads, bridges, culverts and other public facilities, or to cover costs of emergency work during, and debris removal after, the storms. A joint federal, state, and local preliminary damage assessment of the eight counties found the severe weather caused an estimated $4.8 million worth of damage that could be eligible under the Public Assistance Program.


The governor also requested funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. The letter can be read in its entirety here.


The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.