CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231


Gov. Branstad issues disaster proclamation for Johnson County


DES MOINES – Governor Terry E. Branstad today issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for Johnson County in response to recent severe weather.


The governor’s proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of severe storms that significantly impacted the county beginning Aug. 11, 2016. In addition, the proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for Johnson County residents. The program is also still available for eligible residents in Benton and Wright counties until Aug. 31 and Webster County until Sept. 6, for storms which occurred July 16-17.


The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the current federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $40,320, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.


The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.