CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231 OR Governor's office (515) 281-5211


President Obama issues Disaster Declaration for nine Iowa counties

Governor Branstad requests second Presidential Disaster Declaration for 26 counties


DES MOINES – Governor Terry E. Branstad received word today that President Obama approved his request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for nine counties impacted by severe weather in June.


The counties included in the declaration are: Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Mills, Montgomery, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Taylor and Wayne.

The governor sent the request for a declaration on July 7 in response to significant damage that was caused by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding that occurred June 3-4. This is Iowa’s first Presidential Disaster Declaration in 2014.

The declaration by the President will provide federal funding to the declared counties under the Public Assistance Program. A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are matched by state programs, and designed to help public entities and select non-profits. Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and may include debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged public property, loans needed by communities for essential government functions and grants for public schools.

The Governor also received notification that the Presidential Disaster Declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. With this funding, Iowa will be able to minimize the impact of future disasters by taking steps now to strengthen existing infrastructure.

This Presidential Disaster Declaration is the 19th Major Presidential Disaster Declaration Iowa has received since March 2007.

New Presidential Disaster Declaration request for 26 counties

Also today, Governor Branstad signed a letter to be delivered to President Obama requesting a second Presidential Disaster Declaration for Iowa as a result of severe storms, damaging winds, tornadoes, heavy rain, hail and flooding that occurred June 14-23.

The 26 counties in the request are: Allamakee, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Humboldt, Ida, Kossuth, Lyon, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sac, Sioux, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, and Wright.

Iowa HSEMD requests additional damage assessments for four counties

In addition, the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Department (HSEMD) sent a request today to FEMA requesting damage assessments in four counties as a result of severe weather and flooding that occurred June 26 and continuing. The damage assessments, which will primarily cover public infrastructure, will be conducted jointly with HSEMD and other state officials as well as local and federal partners. Results of the damage assessments could be used to determine if a request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration is warranted. Damage assessments will be conducted in the following counties: Benton, Keokuk, Tama and Washington.

Governor Branstad issues Disaster Proclamation for Chickasaw County

Governor Branstad today issued a disaster proclamation for Chickasaw County as a result of severe storms that occurred beginning June 26. The governor’s proclamation allows State resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of these storms.

In addition, today’s proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for Chickasaw County, as well as Benton and Des Moines counties, for which he had issued disaster proclamations on July 10 and July 2, respectively.


The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $39,580, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.


The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.


# # #