CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231 OR Governor's office (515) 281-5211


Governor Branstad issues disaster proclamation for six counties


DES MOINES - Today, Governor Terry E. Branstad issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for Black Hawk, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Louisa and Muscatine counties in response to flooding and severe weather beginning June 26. The governor’s proclamation allows State resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of these storms.


In addition, the proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for seven counties: Black Hawk, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, and Muscatine; and Cedar, Jones and Linn counties, which were declared to be under a disaster emergency on Monday, June 30.


The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $39,580, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.


The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.