CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231 OR Governor's office (515) 281-5211


Governor Branstad issues disaster proclamation for nine counties, HSEMD requests joint damage assessments


(DES MOINES) – Today, Governor Terry E. Branstad issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for nine additional counties in response to flooding and severe weather beginning June 13. Counties included in the proclamation are Allamakee, Buchanan, Butler, Chickasaw, Emmet, Fayette, Humboldt, Winnebago and Winneshiek.


The governor’s proclamation allows State resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of these storms.


In addition, the proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for seven counties. These seven counties had previously been included in a proclamation of disaster emergency to allow state resources to be utilized for response to the June 13 and continuing severe weather. The seven counties now eligible for Iowa Individual Assistance are Buena Vista, Cherokee, Franklin, Lyon, Palo Alto, Plymouth and Sioux.


The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $39,580, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.


On Tuesday, June 24, the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEMD) made a request to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to conduct damage assessments in 12 counties impacted by the June 13 and continuing storms. The damage assessments, which will primarily cover public infrastructure, will be conducted jointly with HSEMD and local officials. Results of the damage assessments could be used to determine if a request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration is warranted. Damage assessments will be conducted in the following counties: Allamakee, Buchanan, Butler, Chickasaw, Emmet, Fayette, Hancock, Humboldt, Kossuth, Pocahontas, Winnebago and Winneshiek.


The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.