Link to Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management's Twitter feedLink to Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management's Facebook pageLink to Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management's BlogLink to the Ready Iowa website Podcasts pageLink to the HSEMD YouTube channel



Iowa 911 call takerThe Code of Iowa, Chapter 34A, states that the director of Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management shall appoint a program manager for the 911 program in Iowa. The program manager shall act under the supervisory control of the HSEMD director and in consultation with the 911 Communications Council.


In Iowa, 911 phone service for land and wireless phones is provided for by the Code of Iowa, Chapter 34A, and the Iowa Administrative Code, Section 605, Chapter 10.


All 99 Iowa counties have the capability of accepting wireless enchanced 911 Phase II service, which provides the call taker at the public safety answering point with latitude/longitude coordinates so they can more readily locate the person who has placed the 911 call.


Contact information and other links

HSEMD is seeking public input on the Draft HSEMD 911 Strategic Plan. Those wishing to comment should submit their feedback using this form. Comments must be received by December 1st.


911 Funding Opportunities


PSAPs interested in the State's shared services environment should complete the Iowa 911 Program Shared System Notice of Intent and Intake Information form.



Click on the tabs for additional information.

911 Council Member Directory


Iowa 911 Communications Council logo



Jeff Anderson

Iowa Emergency Management Association

(Marion County Emergency Management)

Tracey Bearden

Iowa Chapter of the National Emergency Number Association

(Polk County Emergency Management)

Mike Bryant

Iowa Association of Professional Fire Fighters

(Ames Fire Department)

Taylor Teepell

Iowa Telephone Association >15,000 customers

(CenturyLink- Des Moines)

Jack DeAngelo

Iowa Telephone Association <15,000 customers

(Sully Telephone Association)

Robert Dehnert
(Vice Chair)

Iowa Emergency Medical Services Association

(West Des Moines Emergency Medical Services)

George Griffith

Iowa Association of Chiefs of Police and Peace Officers
(Urbandale Police Department)

Cara Sorrells

Iowa Chapter of the Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials

(Iowa County Sheriff)

Lawrence Hartpence

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

(Westcom Communications Center)

Robert Johannesen

Iowa Department of Public Safety

John McCormally

Auditor of State, Ex-Officio Member

Mark Murphy

Iowa Firefighters Association

(Dubuque County 911)

Rob Rotter

Iowa State Sheriffs and Deputies Association

(Iowa County Sheriff)

Joe Sargent

Personal Communications Services companies

(Iowa Wireless Services - West Des Moines)

Steve Zimmer

Cellular Providers

(US Cellular)



911 Council Meetings & Minutes


2019-2020 Meetings

Click here to go to the Iowa E-911 Communications Council YouTube channel

Council meetings are now on YouTube!

View past meetings

Council meetings are held at 9 a.m. on the second Thursday of each month, at the West Des Moines City Hall, 4200 Mills Civic Parkway in West Des Moines (unless otherwise noted). Upcoming 2019 meeting dates:

Most Recent Meeting Minutes (Approved)

For all PDF documents: Save by going to File-> Save as



Want to be notified about upcoming Iowa 911 Communications Council meetings? Click here. (Enter your email address and then scroll down to Homeland Security & Emergency Management lists. Check the box next to the "911 program of Iowa.")