WHEREAS, on April 9, 2013, and continuing thereafter, severe storm systems affected the state of Iowa; and


WHEREAS, these storm systems spawned severe weather, including damaging winds, heavy rains, thunderstorms, freezing rains, and ice storms and caused significant damage to public and private property, power outages resulting from downed power lines and poles, and large debris piles; and


WHEREAS, the following ten (10) Iowa counties suffered significant damages from this event: Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, and Sioux County; and


WHEREAS, reports forwarded by the county emergency management coordinators in the affected counties and others to the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Department indicate that local resources and capacities have been exhausted and that state assistance and resources are needed to respond to and recover from the effects of this event; and


WHEREAS, these conditions have threatened the public peace, health, and safety of citizens of the State of Iowa and have damaged and destroyed public and private property. Because of this, they provide legal justification for the issuance of a Proclamation of a State of Disaster Emergency pursuant to Iowa Code § 29C.6(1).


NOW, THEREFORE, I, TERRY E. BRANSTAD, Governor of the State of Iowa, by the power and authority vested in me by the Iowa Constitution Art. IV, §§ 1, 8 and Iowa Code § 29C.6(1), and all other applicable laws, do hereby proclaim a STATE OF DISASTER EMERGENCY for the following ten (10) Iowa counties: Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, and Sioux County and do hereby ORDER and DIRECT the following:


SECTION ONE. As required by Iowa Code § 29C.6(1),(10) and 42 U.S.C. § 5170 in cases of presidential disaster declarations, this Proclamation of Disaster Emergency activates the disaster response and recovery aspect of the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Department’s Iowa Emergency Response Plan and those additional response plans applicable to the counties affected by this disaster and authorizes the use and deployment of all available state resources, supplies, equipment, and materials as are reasonably necessary to assist those citizens located in the disaster counties.


SECTION TWO. I temporarily authorize state agencies and local political subdivisions in the disaster counties working in conjunction with the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Department to clear or remove debris and wreckage on publicly or privately owned land that may threaten public health or safety or public or private property. Removal of debris and wreckage from private and public property shall be done only after the owner of the property authorizes the debris removed and agrees to hold the state and any local government involved in the removal harmless from all claims in respect to the debris removal. Iowa Code § 29C.6(4).

SECTION THREE. This state of disaster emergency shall be effective on April 9, 2013, shall continue for thirty (30) days, and shall expire on May 9, 2013, unless sooner terminated or extended in writing by me. Iowa Code § 29C.6(1).

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused the Great Seal of the State of Iowa to be affixed at Des Moines, Iowa this eleventh day of April in the year of our Lord Two Thousand Thirteen.






Click here to view a PDF map of designated counties.