Link to Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management's Twitter feedLink to Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management's Facebook pageLink to Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management's BlogLink to the Ready Iowa website Podcasts pageLink to the HSEMD YouTube channel

Iowa Flood Mitigation Board


The Flood Mitigation Board was created by the Iowa General Assembly and signed into law (Iowa Code, Chapter 418) by Governor Branstad in 2012. The board is charged with creating a flood mitigation program for Iowa. This program will allow certain governmental entities to submit flood mitigation projects to the Board for review and possible approval for funding. The funding will come from either sales tax increments or funds appropriated by the General Assembly.


The Board itself is composed of four members from the public, five members from state agencies, as well as four ex-officio members from the General Assembly.


Board Meetings (Schedule/Agendas/Minutes)



There is not currently a meeting scheduled for the board.


Want to be notified about upcoming Iowa Flood Mitigation Board meetings? Click here and send a blank email to this email address. (You will be added to our press release distribution list.)

Board Meeting Minutes (Approved)*

*Minutes from the July 1, 2016, conference call will be approved at the next scheduled meeting.


Board Members






Joyce Flinn (Chair)


(State Government)

Lorraine Glover


Ronald Herrig


Robert Hogg (D)

Iowa Senate

(Iowa General Assembly)

Carolann Jensen

Iowa Finance Authority

(State Government)

Dr. Amy Kaleita

(Vice Chair)


Courtney Kay-Decker

Iowa Dept. of Revenue

(State Government)

Michael Naig

Iowa Dept. of Agriculture & Land Stewardship

(State Government)

Adam Phillips

Treasurer of Iowa

(State Government)

Ken Rozenboom (R)

Iowa Senate

(Iowa General Assembly)

David Sieck (R)

Iowa House

(Iowa General Assembly)

Art Staed (D)

Iowa House

(Iowa General Assembly)

John Torbert


Bruce Trautman

Iowa Dept. of Natural Resources

(State Government)



Application Documents (PDF)

    City of Burlington

Approved: $26,200,000


    City of Cedar Falls

Approved: $6,625,000


    City of Cedar Rapids

Approved: $269,411,016



    City of Coralville

Approved: $9,769,000


    City of Council Bluffs

Approved: $57,000,000


    City of Des Moines &     Metropolitan Wastewater     Reclamation Authority

Approved: $111,100,273



    City of Dubuque

Approved: $98,494,178



    City of Iowa City

Approved: $8,497,249



    City of Storm Lake

Approved: $4,083,060



    City of Waverly

Approved: $5,647,004



    City of Winterset



Please click the tab below for latest sales tax increment projections.



Progress Reports



Cedar Falls

Cedar Rapids


Council Bluffs

City of Des Moines & Metro Wastewater Reclamation Authority


Iowa City

Storm Lake






Questions? Comments? Please email them to John Benson.