Link to Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management's Twitter feedLink to Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management's Facebook pageLink to Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management's BlogLink to the Ready Iowa website Podcasts pageLink to the HSEMD YouTube channel

Emergency Management Structure in Iowa


The structure of homeland security and emergency management in Iowa begins with the governor, who holds the responsibility for protecting Iowa’s citizens. The governor appoints the Iowa homeland security advisor and the director of the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEMD). The HSEMD director serves as the state administrative agent for grants administered by the federal government.


Emergency Management/Homeland Security Structure flowchart


Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management is the coordinating body for homeland security and emergency management activities across the state. In addition to HSEMD, the advisor relies on an advisory committee for information to assist in the decision-making process.


Click on the tab to find out more about this committee.

Homeland Security Advisory Committee (HSAC)


The purpose of the Homeland Security Advisory Committee (HSAC) is to advise Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management on how to strengthen existing homeland security assets and first responder specialty teams. Members of the committee are chosen based on their experience and expertise.


Click here to view the HSAC Charter (PDF)


Click here to get your free copy of Adobe Reader.






Laverne Armstrong

Iowa Department of Human Services

Aimee Barritt

Iowa Emergency Management Association

Ron Burchette, Chief

Davenport Fire Department

Rebecca Curtiss

Iowa Department of Public Health

Dave Donovan

Quad Cities Area Maritime Security Committee

Carroll Edmonson

District Court (Linn County)

Jeff Franklin

Office of the Chief Information Officer (State of IA)

Dutch Geisinger

Safeguard Iowa Partnership

Gina Hardin

Des Moines County Emergency Management

Mike Johnstone

Iowa State Sheriffs and Deputies Association

Ted Kamatchus

Iowa Statewide Interoperability Communications System (ISICS)

Dave Lorenzen, Chief

Iowa Peace Officers Association

General Tim Orr

Iowa National Guard

Jon Paoli

Iowa State Geographic Information Council

Nicole M. Proesch

Iowa Department of Education

Robin Pruisner

Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship

Dave Wilson

Iowa Emergency Management Association

John Wilson

Iowa Department of Transportation

Rick Wulfekuhle

Statewide Citizen Corps