Link to Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management's Twitter feedLink to Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management's Facebook pageLink to Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management's BlogLink to the Ready Iowa website Podcasts pageLink to the Ready Iowa website Video page

Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) Grant Program



FEMA's Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) grant programs provide funding opportunities for pre- and post-disaster mitigation. Together, these programs provide significant opportunities to reduce or eliminate potential losses to state, tribal and local assets through hazard mitigation planning and project grant funding. Each HMA program was authorized by separate legislative action, and as such, each program differs slightly in scope and intent.


Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) grants are provided to eligible applicant states, tribes, and territories that, in turn, provide subgrants to local governments. The applicant selects and prioritizes applications developed and submitted to them by local jurisdictions to submit to FEMA for consideration of funding. As of 2013, here are three sub-programs:

  • Hazard Mitigation Grant Program
  • Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) Program
  • Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Program

(NOTE: The Biggert-Waters Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2012 elminated the Repetitive Flood Claims (RFC) and Severe Repetitive Loss (SRL) programs.)


FY2014 HMA Funding Opportunities - NEW!


The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has announced that $112 million in funding will be available for FY2014 through the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) and Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) grant programs. The application period opens Monday, April 21, 2014.


FEMA has established the application deadline for states to submit their application by July 25, 2014. In order to meet FEMA's deadline, Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEMD) must receive local sub-applications by Monday, July 7, 2014.


Notices of Funds Availability (NOFA)


Click one of the links below for more information on types of eligible projects, funding cost-shares, deadlines and HSEMD staff contacts:


Click on the tabs to learn more about each HMA program.

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP)



The Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) provides grants to states, local governments, and Native American tribes for long-term hazard mitigation projects after a major disaster declaration. The purpose of the program is to reduce the loss of life and property in future disasters by funding mitigation measures during the recovery phase of a natural disaster.


Safe Rooms




Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) Program



The Pre-Disaster Mitigation program provides funds on an annual basis for hazard mitigation planning and the implementation of mitigation projects prior to a disaster. The goal of the PDM program is to reduce overall risk to the population and structures, while at the same time, also reducing reliance on Federal funding from actual disaster declarations.



Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Program



The Flood Mitigation Assistance program was created to assist States and communities in implementing measures that reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to buildings insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). There are three types of FMA grants available to states and communities:

  • Planning Grants to prepare flood mitigation plans;
  • Project Grants to implement measures to reduce flood losses, such as elevation, acquisition, or relocation of NFIP-insured structures; and
  • Management Cost Grants for the State to help administer the FMA program and activities





Go to general Hazard Mitigation information page.